Home Others Navratri – the Story behind this 9-Day Long Festival, its Significance, and Impact

Navratri – the Story behind this 9-Day Long Festival, its Significance, and Impact

9 min read
Navratri – Significance, and Impact

Navratri refers to nine sacred days that symbolize an auspicious phase in the Hindu lunar calendar. The nine avatars of Goddess Durga are worshipped during this period.

During this period, the demon Mahishasura and Goddess Durga were engaged in a long battle signifying the triumph of virtue over vice. The story entails nine avatars of the Goddess each one being the central character for each of these nine days. Each one of these nice days is also marked by a special colour that all devotees are supposed to wear during the festivities. You’ll need to get it segmented in a more simplified manner.

The nine avatars of Durga and the significance of their colors are mentioned below:


Day-1: SHAILPUTRI: The combined power of the Trimurti – Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheshwar contributes towards the embodiment of Shailputri. The consort of Shiva, as she’s assumed in this form gets worshipped by Hindus all over the world. Both vigour and action are denoted by ‘red’, which is the colour of the first day of Navratri.

Day-2: BRAHMCHARINI: Deep religious commitment is practiced by this avatar of the Goddess. For all of her devotees that worship her, she provides prosperity, peace, grace, and happiness by turning blissful. Moksha or emancipation can be achieved by following her image of happiness and bliss. Royal Blue is the color of this second day as it symbolizes her energetic prowess and calmness.

Day-3: CHANDRAGHANTA: She symbolizes total elegance and beauty of womanhood and gets worshipped for bringing prosperity and peace. She’s also the symbol of strength and bravery for women. ‘Yellow’ is the color for celebrating this day.

Day-4: KUSHMUNDA: The universe is known to be created by her. A sudden bout of her laughter is all that is known to have created this universe. She even helped in vegetating mother Earth. That’s why ‘Green’ is considered to be the color of this day.

Day-5: SKAND MATA: She is known to be the commander-in-chief hand-picked by the Gods in their war against the demons. Karthikeyan or Skanda is the name of her son who accompanies her in his infant form. This day is marked by ‘grey’ as this color reflects a mother’s responsibility of protecting her child by transforming herself into a dust cloud.

Day-6: KATYAYANI: Devi Katyayani is another avatar of the Goddess who was born to Kata, the great sage. Extreme courage is projected by this embodiment, which is draped in orange. That’s also the reason behind marking this day with ‘Orange’.

For More Articles On BONGyatra: Best experience of the Kolkata Durga Puja festival

Day-7: KALRATRI: Apart from her fearless posture, she appears with her unkempt hair and dark complexion. Her breath emanates flames as her three eyes shine brightly. She has a close resemblance with the Goddess Kali due to her dark complexion. Although she wears a white outfit that depicts peace and purity, she is considered to be another fierce Avatar of Goddess Durga.

Day-8: MAHA GAURI: Maha Gauri proves to be peaceful and silent besides being intelligent. She is known to have attained a tan skin from a fair complexion due to her age-old austerities deeper within the Himalayan forests. Her body is known to have regained grace after Lord Shiva cleansed her with the holy water of river Ganges. It’s since then that she’s called Maha Gauri depicting bright skin complexion. However, ‘pink’ is considered to be the color of the 8th day and it depicts a new beginning. This day is marked by the White color.

Day-9: SIDDHIDATRI: She yields a supernatural power for healing wounds. Alongside maintaining happiness within her mind, she is known to possess four arms for blessing all yogis, saints, tantriks, and other gods. Resembling the purity of the sky on a clear morning, the goddess retains her blissful state all through the day. The wonderful grace and beauty of the Mother Nature are represented by the pure bluish sky.

Navratri is celebrated two times every year. Chaitra Navratri is the first one that’s celebrated between March and April. While some of the devotees of the Goddess performing fasting for just two days, the vast majority observe it for all nine days. The fast compels a devotee to have potatoes, fruits, sago, milk, coffee, and tea. The sago can be taken in the form of a delicacy prepared with rice and flour. While cooking, a type of sea salt known as the Sendha salt is used in place of the regular table salt.

The global Hindu community and the inhabitants of northern India, celebrate this religious event with festivity and fervour. It’s widely believed that the Goddess Durga fulfills the desires of all her devotees and protects them all the year round.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Avik Sarkar
Load More In Others

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Majoli – The Land Encircled by Two Parallel Rivers

Amidst the pacing, cacophonic, muddled lifestyle, our heart wanders to catch hold of the s…